Why I Workout for Me

Why I.png

One of the greatest things I’ve ever read about working out and your body was in a cookbook called “The Kind Diet”, by Alicia Silverstone. In it, and I’m paraphrasing, it says that you should be kind to your body. There is no need for a vigorous workout.

While I somewhat agree with that, I believe it really depends on the “look” you are going for. Obviously, if you have slow metabolism yoga isn’t going to give you a body like Gisele Bündchen. I am a firm believe that workouts are like boyfriends, you have to find the one that fits you.

After having two kids, and getting older (GASP), I have given up on the pipe dream that I will one day look like Britney Spears or Jessica Biel. After many glances in the mirror and conversations in my head I have come to the conclusion of what I want my goal to be.

It’s about having a bigger discussion with yourself about your goals.

Tracy Anderson

I want to be healthy and I don’t want to be feeble the older I get. So my goal isn’t to look like some kind of fitness model or even to try and replicate a body type I’ll never have, it is to just be me.

Currently, and after much hard work and tweaks to my diet, I am a size four. Before you roll your eyes and think that I’m a jerk, wait a minute. I used to be a chubby girl. Throughout my childhood I was what the department stores called “Husky”. In high school I think I was between a 10 and a 12 size jean. It has taken me a lot of work to even reach a size that is healthy for my height and frame.

I’m not going to say that my fitness routine or diet will work for everyone, but I will say that it works for me. After many years of trying,I finally found something that helps me.

As with Gwyneth Paltrow, Tracy Anderson is my little miracle.

tracy-anderson-work-out.jpg
 

DONALD BOWERS—GETTY IMAGES; PHOTO ILLUSTRATION BY LAUREN MARGIT JONES FOR TIME

 

Remember, my goal here is to not look like Ms. Anderson or even Jennifer Lopez, my goal is to look like me! If I’m happy with my results that is all that matters. Before Ms. Anderson I wouldn’t have even contemplated buying a size 4 jean. I would have laughed my head off if someone said, “Hey try these on!”

Now, while her workouts are a bit vigorous, and challenging they get the spots that I want to work. My legs for one, and my upper body. The parts that I feel need the most work, not to sculpt but to make sure they remain healthy and ready for chasing around my two year old.

Between my workouts with Tracy, I usually take a leisure stroll with my kids and husband. I live in the Pacific Northwest, I’d be nuts not to explore the gorgeousness around me! This goes in line with what I read in my “Kind Diet” cookbook. (No I’m not a Vegan, but sometimes I play one). There are days I don’t feel like working out and that is perfectly fine! Again, I am not out to get a hard body that makes people scream “Damn Gina!” at me.

While it is flattering when people are surprised I’ve had two kids, I also find that insulting. What am I supposed to look like? And why do you care?

Untitled design.png

The best thing I ever did for myself was stop caring about what people thought I should look like. And I stopped stressing that I didn’t look like any of my favorite celebrities. Truth is we are different body types and I work full time. I can’t just stop what I’m doing to work out for two hours a day! I don’t work at Nike!

Bottom line, workouts need to work for you. You have to try many on, to see if they work for you. You could be doing pilates, because it was the in thing many moons ago and you read that is how Jennifer Aniston got her body. But the truth is you’re not any smaller, and you don’t look anything like Jen and you don’t even look like you do pilates. Why? Well, the answer is simple you are doing the wrong workout. So my message is simple. Stop killing yourselves and find a workout you truly enjoy, that is NOT the hot thing of the month. Yes, Soulcycle sounds like a grand time, and it so worked for Vanessa Hudgens. But you are not her. And really riding a bike in place in a dimly lit room with thirty other sweaty individuals doesn’t not sound like a grand time to me.

I encourage you to explore! Who knows you might find Jazzercising to be your thing!

Tracy Anderson image and quote are from the website Motto.Com. Click here for the full article.

I’d love to hear what workouts you enjoy and of course I’d love some dieting tips. Cause you know things go stale!

Until Next time!

Signature

3 Replies to “Why I Workout for Me”

    1. Diyingmachine, well yes of course you want people to notice that you look good. But when it comes under criticism, such as, “Oh you’ve had two kids, good for you!” Um thanks! I’d rather have compliments such as “Good for you, you’re doing more than me!” HA HA. I can be slightly competitive!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

